The Lost Man By Jane Harper

$16.99

The Lost Man By (author) Jane Harper ISBN:9781760781064 Three brothers, one death, no answers… For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper once again creates a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

4 in stock

SKU: 9781760781064 Categories: , ,

Description

‘I absolutely loved The Lost Man. I devoured it in a day. Her best yet!’ Liane MoriartynnThe man lay still in the centre of a dusty grave under a monstrous sky.n nTwo brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland.n nThey are at the stockman’s grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last chance for their middle brother, Cameron.n nThe Bright family’s quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn’t, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects…n nFor readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.nnWINNER OF THE NED KELLY BEST FICTION AWARD 2019nWINNER OF THE DAVITT READER’S CHOICE AWARD 2019nWINNER OF THE ITW THRILLER AWARDS BEST PAPERBACK NOVEL 2019nSHORTLISTED FOR THE INDIE BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION 2019 nLONGLISTED FOR THE ABIA GENERAL FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2019nLONGLISTED FOR THE COLIN RODERICK LITERARY AWARD 2019 nLONGLISTED FOR THE DUBLIN LITERARY AWARD 2020 nnPRAISE FOR THE LOST MANnn’I read this with the growing realisation that it was not only another superb thriller but a classic work of fiction by one of the finest novelists now working. Man Booker judges for 2019, are you listening?’ New Zealand Herald Weekend Magazinenn’I started it at noon and at 2am that night I closed it and totally understood what all the fuss was about. It was even better than The Dry’ The Agenn’We’re starting to get spoiled for Jane Harper books, and the quality is not slipping. Her latest is no exception. Harper lays out each card at exactly the right moment, letting the story unwind while the outback almost hums with hostility…the result grips to the end’ Adelaide Advertisernn’In The Lost Man, Jane Harper surpasses her achievement in The Dry, her multi-awardwinning first novel. A broad range of Australian and international readers will be engaged by the strong setting and mystery storyline of the new novel’ Weekend Australiannn’Like the country it describes, this is a “big” book, and one likely to cement Harper’s place as one of the most interesting Australian crime writers to emerge in the past decade. Her sense of place is acute, but it is her attention to the relationships that are shaped by this unforgiving, magnificent landscape that will linger long after the mystery of stockman’s grave is finally revealed.’ Sue Turnbull, Sydney Morning Herald nn’The Lost Man is her best yet; it’s certainly one of the finest novels of any sort, not only within the genre, that I’ve read in many moons . . . Harper adroitly blends the tension and brisk pace of a thriller with the psychological acuity and stylish prose of literary fiction’ Irish Independent nn’In just a couple of years, Jane Harper has soared into the first rank of contemporary crime writers. The Lost Man…returns to the parched landscape she used to such powerful effect in her debut, The Dry …Three generations of women – the dead man’s mother, wife and daughters – struggle to come to terms with terrible events, and the family’s shocking history holds the key to this super murder mystery’ Sunday Times (UK)nn’In The Lost Man as in Harper’s previous two novels, place is paramount, a multifaceted character that’s in turns brutal and breathtaking.’ Washington Postnn'[A] crime masterpiece. The landscape and culture of this remote Australian territory are magnificently evoked as a story of family secrets unfolds. Rarely does a puzzle so complicated fit together perfectly – you’ll be shaking your head in amazement.’ People Magazine Book of the Weeknn’Fabulously atmospheric, the book starts slowly and gradually picks up pace towards a jaw-dropping denouement’ GuardiannnPRAISE FOR JANE HARPERnn’The most exciting emerging novelist of the last 12 months…places Harper in the elevated company of the authors she so admires…Gillian Flynn and Lee Child’ Mail on Sundaynn’A storytelling force to be reckoned with’ US Publishers Weeklynn’Thanks to Jane Harper, whose The Dry has gone gangbusters here and internationally, Australia’s very own crime genre, rural noir, is on a roll. [The Lost Man] is as much a family saga and love story as a thriller’ Good Weekend Magazine
n
nThe Lost Man By (author) Jane Harper ISBN:9781760781064

Additional information

Author

Harper, Jane